Kinship Circle
Share/Bookmark
SEARCH
Email List
spacer ALL ALERTS EXPERIMENTATION COMPANION FOOD-AGRICULTURE WILD ENTERTAINMENT FASHION spacer

WIN! No Horse Slaughter Plants In Missouri, For Now



BACKGROUND
all open alerts on this website give you two ways to comment.
so simple! just pick one or the other:
send letter from your pc DIRECT SEND
For best results, send comments directly from you — just like you email friends or relatives everyday — instead of a web petition from our server.
AUTOMATED WEB PETITION
direct send
sample letter


go to petition instead
how to email a letter:
  1. Copy LETTER below. Paste into an email.
  2. Change some words. Sign name, address, country.
  3. Copy EMAIL ADDRESSES. Paste in TO: line of an email. SEND letter from your email program.
how to fax or mail a letter:
  1. Open sample letter as a DOC or PDF.
  2. Change some words. Sign name, address, country.
  3. Print letter to fax or mail using CONTACT INFORMATION on this page or in the DOC or PDF.
   

SAMPLE LETTER SEND THIS LETTER

Missouri House of Representatives:

Please reject Rep. Jim Viebrock's bill to sidestep federal rules that bar horse slaughter for human consumption. If passed, H.B. 1747 lets horse processors operate in Missouri even though no equine plants legally function in the U.S. right now. While supporters insist slaughter "saves" horses from neglect and starvation, their argument fails to recognize:

"Americans oppose horse slaughter by an overwhelming margin," says Glen Bolger, national pollster and founding partner of the nonpartisan Public Opinion Strategies (POS). In a 2007 poll, POS found that 71% want horses preserved as part of American cultural heritage. Nearly half are less likely to vote for a Congressperson who is against a horse slaughter ban.

Equine plants are known polluters that congest sewers and contaminate land and water.

Under Missouri Anti-Cruelty Statues Chapter 578, animal abandonment is a crime punishable by fines and jail time. Rather than advocate slaughter as an alternative to neglect, lawmakers ought to enforce criminal prosecution.

Slaughter is NOT humane euthanasia. Methods to stun and kill cows and pigs are excruciating when used on horses. Nonetheless, these excitable, long-necked animals are subjected to captive bolt pistols that often don't render them insensible. Some remain aware while killed.

Overpopulation stems from industries such as Premarin and Prempro (HRT drugs made from mare urine); carriage horses; riding stables, etc. that over-breed horses. Focus should shift to breeding oversight and responsible care. Moreover, there is no documented connection between closure of domestic plants and a spike in horse abuse cases. In contrast, slaughter supplies a "dumping ground" for irresponsible breeders and caretakers.

H.B. 1747 wants to impose a U.S. market for horsemeat on a nation that doesn't want it. The Prevention of Equine Cruelty Act, H.R. 503/S.B. 727, currently before Congress, bans possession, shipment, transport, purchase, sale, delivery or receipt of any horse for the purpose of human ingestion. In 2006 Congress cut off funding for mandatory ante-mortem inspection of horses. This de-funding was reinstated in the 2010 Appropriations Act. It is illegal to kill uninspected horses under the Federal Meat Inspection Act.

In 2007 the U.S. Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals proclaimed horse slaughter illegal in Texas, home to two foreign-owned equine plants. Later that year, U.S. District Court Judge Colleen Kollar-Kotelly froze America's last kill plant in DeKalb, Illinois for its failure to assess environmental impacts of horse slaughter, in violation of the National Environmental Policy Act.

Missouri's proposed "rebirth" of a doomed industry is economically and ethically shortsighted. Horse slaughter is a no-win for horses and people. Please do not support H.B. 1747.

Sincerely,

>>>YOUR FULL NAME
>>>ADRESS, CITY, STATE
>>>COUNTRY

Back to top



CONTACT INFORMATION SEND THIS LETTER

For full contact information, click this big button.

CLICK BUTTON ABOVE FOR COMPLETE CONTACT INFORMATION, including letter recipient's name/title, phone, fax, mailing address, email, web contact form... Click button a second time and the information disappears.

Back to top



EMAIL BLOCK / All email addresses publicly available for this alert

How do I use an email block? Click this button.

MISSOURI RESIDENTS, CONTACT YOUR STATE REPRESENTATIVES:
Find your reps' contact information: www.house.mo.gov/member.aspx
Email your elected reps. Call them. Visit them (via appointment). Fax them.


EVERYONE, CONTACT MISSOURI LAWMAKERS:
Emails are from the Missouri House of Representatives website: www.house.mo.gov/member.aspx
If any don't work, it is because:

The website contains inaccurate, outdated information
The recipient has disabled his/her email
The recipient's mailbox is full (try later)


AGRICULTURE POLICY COMMITTEE + ENTIRE MISSOURI HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES:

Sue.Allen@house.mo.gov, Bert.Atkins@house.mo.gov, Joe.Aull@house.mo.gov, NitaJane.Ayres@house.mo.gov, Kenny.Biermann@house.mo.gov, Walt.Bivins@house.mo.gov, Ellen.Brandom@house.mo.gov, Rachel.Bringer@house.mo.gov, Dan.Brown@house.mo.gov, Jason.Brown@house.mo.gov, Michael.Brown@house.mo.gov, Mark.Bruns@house.mo.gov, Eric.Burlison@house.mo.gov, John.Burnett@house.mo.gov, Don.Calloway@house.mo.gov, Chris.Carter@house.mo.gov, Ron.Casey@house.mo.gov, Maria.ChappelleNadal@house.mo.gov, Mike.Colona@house.mo.gov, Pat.Conway@house.mo.gov, Wayne.Cooper@house.mo.gov, Michael.Corcoran@house.mo.gov, Stanley.Cox@house.mo.gov, Mike.Cunningham@house.mo.gov, Shalonn.Curls@house.mo.gov, Cynthia.Davis@house.mo.gov, David.Day@house.mo.gov, Bill.Deeken@house.mo.gov, Charlie.Denison@house.mo.gov, Mike.Dethrow@house.mo.gov, Scott.Dieckhaus@house.mo.gov, John.Diehl@house.mo.gov, Bob.Dixon@house.mo.gov, Curt.Dougherty@house.mo.gov, Tony.Dugger@house.mo.gov, Gary.Dusenberg@house.mo.gov, Ed.Emery@house.mo.gov, Vicki.Englund@house.mo.gov Doug.Ervin@house.mo.gov, Sally.Faith@house.mo.gov, Joe.FallertJr@house.mo.gov, Linda.Fischer@house.mo.gov, Barney.Fisher@house.mo.gov, Thomas.Flanigan@house.mo.gov, Tim.Flook@house.mo.gov, Michael.Frame@house.mo.gov, Ward.Franz@house.mo.gov, Doug.Funderburk@house.mo.gov, Chuck.Gatschenberger@house.mo.gov, Jason.Grill@house.mo.gov, Jeff.Grisamore@house.mo.gov, Casey.Guernsey@house.mo.gov, Jim.Guest@house.mo.gov, Belinda.Harris@house.mo.gov, Steve.Hobbs@house.mo.gov, Steve.Hodges@house.mo.gov, Jason.Holsman@house.mo.gov, Denny.Hoskins@house.mo.gov, leonard.hughes@house.mo.gov, Jake.Hummel@house.mo.gov, Allen.Icet@house.mo.gov, Kenny.Jones@house.mo.gov, Tim.Jones@house.mo.gov, Tishaura.Jones@house.mo.gov, Jason.Kander@house.mo.gov, Shelley.Keeney@house.mo.gov, Chris.Kelly@house.mo.gov, Gayle.Kingery@house.mo.gov, Jeanne.Kirkton@house.mo.gov, Andrew.Koenig@house.mo.gov, Sam.Komo@house.mo.gov, Michele.Kratky@house.mo.gov, Will.Kraus@house.mo.gov, JC.Kuessner@house.mo.gov, Mike.Lair@house.mo.gov, Sara.Lampe@house.mo.gov, Scott.Largent@house.mo.gov Mike.Leara@house.mo.gov, Roman.LeBlanc@house.mo.gov, Paul.Levota@house.mo.gov, Albert.Liese@house.mo.gov, Scott.Lipke@house.mo.gov, Tom.Loehner@house.mo.gov, Beth.Low@house.mo.gov, Rebecca.McClanahan@house.mo.gov, Tom.McDonald@house.mo.gov, Mike.McGhee@house.mo.gov, Cole.McNary@house.mo.gov, Margo.McNeil@house.mo.gov, Tim.Meadows@house.mo.gov, Kate.Meiners@house.mo.gov, Chris.Molendorp@house.mo.gov, James.Morris@house.mo.gov, Brian.Munzlinger@house.mo.gov, Bob.Nance@house.mo.gov, Jamilah.Nasheed@house.mo.gov, Stacey.Newman@house.mo.gov, Brian.Nieves@house.mo.gov, Jerry.Nolte@house.mo.gov, Charlie.Norr@house.mo.gov, Jeanette.Oxford@house.mo.gov, Sharon.Pace@house.mo.gov, Mark.Parkinson@house.mo.gov, Mike.Parson@house.mo.gov, Darrell.Pollock@house.mo.gov, Bryan.Pratt@house.mo.gov, Paul.Quinn@house.mo.gov, Ronald.Richard@house.mo.gov, Jeanie.Riddle@house.mo.gov, Jeff.Roorda@house.mo.gov, Martin.Rucker@house.mo.gov, Marilyn.Ruestman@house.mo.gov, Don.Ruzicka@house.mo.gov, Ray.Salva@house.mo.gov, Therese.Sander@house.mo.gov, David.Sater@house.mo.gov, Luke.Scavuzzo@house.mo.gov, Rob.Schaaf@house.mo.gov, Rodney.Schad@house.mo.gov, Dwight.Scharnhorst@house.mo.gov, Ed.Schieffer@house.mo.gov Charlie.Schlottach@house.mo.gov, Shane.Schoeller@house.mo.gov, Sue.Schoemehl@house.mo.gov, Jill.Schupp@house.mo.gov, Tom.Self@house.mo.gov, Tom.Shively@house.mo.gov, Ryan.Silvey@house.mo.gov, Trent.Skaggs@house.mo.gov, Jason.Smith@house.mo.gov, Joe.Smith@house.mo.gov, Michael.Spreng@house.mo.gov, Bryan.Stevenson@house.mo.gov, Mary.Still@house.mo.gov, Rachel.Storch@house.mo.gov, Rick.Stream@house.mo.gov, Mike.Sutherland@house.mo.gov, Terry.Swinger@house.mo.gov, Mike.Talboy@house.mo.gov, Mike.Thomson@house.mo.gov, Steven.Tilley@house.mo.gov, Tom.Todd@house.mo.gov, Clint.Tracy@house.mo.gov, Jim.Viebrock@house.mo.gov, Michael.Vogt@house.mo.gov, Maynard.Wallace@house.mo.gov, Gina.Walsh@house.mo.gov, Rochelle.Gray@house.mo.gov, Jay.Wasson@house.mo.gov, Steve.Webb@house.mo.gov, Don.Wells@house.mo.gov, Raymond.Weter@house.mo.gov, Hope.Whitehead@house.mo.gov, Kevin.Wilson@house.mo.gov, Terry.Witte@house.mo.gov, Billy.Wright@house.mo.gov, Patricia.Yaeger@house.mo.gov, Anne.Zerr@house.mo.gov, Jake.Zimmerman@house.mo.gov

KINSHIP CIRCLE CANNOT GUARANTEE ALL EMAILS WILL WORK: During campaigns, recipients may change or disable email addresses. Emails from government, corporate, or institute websites may be incorrect.
contact information


go to petition instead
Most alerts have many email recipients. If one or more emails bounce that does NOT mean all failed.

Send failed email messages to: info@kinshipcircle.org Please do not send us hostile notes.
  • Official websites list outdated or incorrect emails.
  • Recipients block emails if swamped with mail.
  • A server may be down or not accepting email.
  • The email recipient's inbox is full (over quota).
  • Occasionally the same email works at later time.
email addresses only

full contact information


automated web petition


go back to direct-send

about web petitions
When you use the web petition instead of direct-send, your comments — and everyone else's — come from one place: Our website server.

WEB PETITIONS REQUIRE THE LEAST EFFORT, BUT SOMETIMES CAN:
  • Create a spam effect that angers recipients and hurts outcome for animals.
  • Compel recipients to block the entire petition, so no one's comments get through.


Your own voice makes more impact. Try to change some words in letter.

Subject:

Salutation:

spacer

To send this letter, enter your contact information:

First Name:  

Last Name:  

Email:  

Address:  

City:  

State/Prov:  

Zip Code:  

Country:  

Not a Kinship Circle member? SIGN UP FOR OUR ANIMAL NEWS & ACTION LIST. Just 1 to 2 e-newsletters monthly.




Enter the code exactly as seen in the image:



educational literature

Fact Sheet   Fact Sheet   Fact Sheet  

Click on any thumbnail above — or visit Kinship Circle's entire LITERATURE LIBRARY, to browse animal topics and easily download materials. Download FREE high-quality literature for use in: Education Settings; Tabling, Demos; Presentations; Letters, Articles; Media Press Kits…

SUPPORT EDUCATION Your tax-deductible gift pays to develop learning initiatives and mass print literature for educators, advocates, students… Together, we can spread the truth about animals!
source of information & references
Missouri Congressional session closes with horse slaughter rejected!
Missouri Rep. Jim Viebrock wanted to kill horses. So he proposed House Bill 1747 to sidestep a federal ban on U.S. horse slaughter. Kinship Circle issued a 3/21/10 letter campaign urging MO House Reps to reject legislation to legalize horse processing plants in Missouri. From there, it got weird.

Some MO Reps harassed Kinship Circle to the extent a police report was filed. And the House seemingly passed its bill as revenge against animal advocates. Then, Rep Viebrock covertly attached horse slaughter provisions to unrelated Senate Bill 795. He thought no one would notice?

But in the end YOUR VOICE, along with support from rational Missouri legislators, proved stronger than the pro-slaughter extremists. Against a backdrop of strong public protest from around the world, the Missouri Congressional session closed yesterday with language to legalize horse slaughter rejected. Thanks to all who wrote, faxed, emailed, called and mailed on behalf of horses. Brenda Shoss, Kinship Circle

Weird Odyssey: How Missouri Tried & Failed to Revive U.S. Horse Slaughter

5/15/10 - MISSOURI SESSIONS ENDS WITH HORSE SLAUGHTER A DEAD ISSUE: 2010 MO Legislature / PASSED - SB795 AGRICULTURE: Increases some regulations relating to agriculture, including rules concerning large carnivores, but does not create mechanism to allow horse slaughter plants in Missouri.

5/11/10 - S.B. 795 STUCK IN COMMITTEE: S.B. 795 is in conference committee because Missouri's Senate cannot agree on the House Committee Substitute that passed the House with amendments including: pro-horse slaughter provisions.

5/7/10 - HORSE SLAUGHTER PROVISIONS STILL HIDDEN IN S.B. 795: Original horse kill bill 1747 that was covertly attached to S.B. 795 (an unrelated bill) is NOT REMOVED from S.B. 795, as formerly believed.

5/2/10 - SOME REPS RENEW HARASSMENT OF KINSHIP CIRCLE: MO House Reps debate the House Committee Substitute version of S.B. 795. Animal Law Coalition and R.A.G.E. ask their members to send comments opposing inclusion of horse slaughter language in S.B. 795. Although Kinship Circle itself has issued no alert on horse slaughter since 3/21/10, some Reps bounce hundreds of unread emails (from members of these other groups) to Kinship Circle's computer from May 1 to the present!

4/30/10 - IT DOESN'T GET MUCH SLEAZIER THAN THIS: Chair of the Missouri Senate Agriculture, Food Production and Outdoor Resources Committee, Sen. Dan Clemens, states "there will be no further legislative progress on H.B. 1747." But Rep James Viebrock has already attached provisions to legalize horse slaughter to an unrelated bill. S.B. 795, with horse slaughter attached, passes the House Agriculture Committee.

4/6/10: HARASSMENT OF KINSHIP CIRCLE MAKES FRONT-PAGE NEWS: St. Louis Post Dispatch the daily and largest paper in Missouri runs a front page story about Missouri House Representatives tampering with public information and harassing Kinship Circle State Legislators Target Activist. Post also runs an editorial against killing horses and hounding activists, Squirrelly about animals in the Frog Kingdom. An Associated Press version runs in Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, CBS News, Yahoo News, and many more papers nationwide.

In an attempt to silence our opposition to horse slaughter...
Some Reps forward 2,000+ unread emails to Kinship Circle's server. Whereas our members send comments to many individual computers, Reps who "don't care about non-constituents" barrage Kinship Circle's single computer. One Rep forwards emails entirely unrelated to horse slaughter! They even bounce emails from supporters.

Rep. Casey Guernsey, R-Bethany memorably tells us: "It's so fun to piss you wackos off. You're lucky I even acknowledge your existence. It's so much fun to taunt people like you ha! Tell me, is it truly liberating to be so incredibly clueless?"

In a call to Kinship Circle's line, from CALLER ID: Missouri State 573-522-0000, a male voice bleats some type of tribal war chant...nonsensical noise with the sound of men snickering in the background.

In another call from CALLER ID: Missouri State 573-522-0000, a man sings "A Horse Is A Horse," from the movie Mr. Ed.

In a 10:00pm call, a creepy male voice drones "Brenda, Brenda, Brenda...neigh...Brenda, Brenda...neigh..." in reference to Kinship Circle's president Brenda Shoss. This call frightens Ms. Shoss' 9-year-old son and leads her to file a police report.

Other calls from unidentified Reps begin with a menacing "Hey Brenda..." In one call: "There aren't but three people here [the MO House] who care for you or your organization... Your group has guaranteed passage of this bill...[because of] frickin' emails from everyone in the world!"



MISSOURIANS: THANK STATE SENATORS AND REPS IN YOUR DISTRICT
LOOK UP YOUR STATE LEGISLATORS
Express your gratitude that provisions to legalize horse slaughter in Missouri were rejected.
Tell them that their stance on animal protection issues will effect your future voting decisions.

***AUTO LETTERS CAN BACKFIRE WHEN WRITING TO LEGISLATURES***
A personal constituent approach is vital to to passage or rejection of animal protection bills.

US Horse Slaughter Statistics

THE AUTOMATED LETTER BELOW IS CLOSED. DO NOT ATTEMPT TO SEND IT. It is here as evidence of our original campaign, due to harassement by some Missouri House members.



Slaughter of horses in U.S. could resume, in Missouri
Show MO Legislators Why They Should Oppose H.B. 1747
DISCLAIMER: Information in these materials is verified with original source. Kinship Circle does not assume responsibility for accuracy of information or for consequences of its use. Nothing on this website intends to encourage illegal action in whatever country you are reading it in. Kinship Circle does not engage in, nor support, any form of harassment or unlawful action. Nothing in this alert serves to promote such conduct.

EMAIL ADDRESSES: Kinship Circle cannot guarantee validity of email addresses. During a campaign, recipients may change or disable their email addresses. Email addresses obtained from government or other official websites may be outdated or incorrect.
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Change.org Kinship Circle Store CafePress Store eBay Giving Works GoodSearch


spacer KINSHIP CIRCLE
Animal Advocacy  |  Education  |  Disaster Aid

info@kinshipcircle.org  •  KinshipCircle.org  •  KinshipCircle.org/disasters
314-795-2646  |  7380 Kingsbury Blvd  |  Saint Louis, MO 63130 USA

Kinship Circle is a nonprofit focused in: Animal Cruelty Investigation & Action, Humane Education, and Disaster Animal Response.
●  Federal 501c3 under U.S. IRS ruling, Public Charity Status: 170b1Avi
●  Tax Employee Identification Number (EIN) available upon request
●  Nonprofit Certificate of Incorporation, Charter: N00071626
●  PRIVACY POLICY